Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you book through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change which places we recommend.Some links are affiliate links: we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Short answer: for 3 days Yesim was EUR 0.50 cheaper (EUR 10.50 against EUR 11.00). For 5 days Airalo was EUR 1.50 cheaper (EUR 16.00 against EUR 17.50). At 7 days both showed EUR 24.50. From 10 days Yesim was cheaper, by EUR 3.19 at 10 days and EUR 8.50 at 30 days. We have not tested either one. Rule: up to 7 days, compare the two prices for your exact length; at 10 days and longer, Yesim was the cheaper one on every length we read.
- A Japan eSIM is a data plan you install with a QR code instead of a plastic SIM card, the chip that identifies your phone to a mobile network. It only works on phones that support eSIM and are not locked to one carrier, and Airalo’s Japan page has a compatibility check.
- We read the Japan pages of Airalo and Yesim in a browser on 2026-10-13 and took a screenshot of each.
Pick a Japan eSIM by trip length
- 1 or 2 days: only Yesim lists an unlimited plan for these lengths, EUR 3.50 for 1 day and EUR 7.00 for 2.
- 4 days: Yesim EUR 14.00. Airalo’s page lists no 4-day plan, so you would buy its 5-day plan at EUR 16.00.
- Every other length both brands sell is in the table below.
All figures are unlimited plans in euros, as each page printed them. Prices change often, so open each page and compare the same number of days.
Unlimited plan prices for the lengths both brands sell
| Days | Airalo unlimited | Yesim unlimited |
|---|---|---|
| 3 | EUR 11.00 | EUR 10.50 |
| 5 | EUR 16.00 | EUR 17.50 |
| 7 | EUR 24.50 | EUR 24.50 |
| 10 | EUR 32.00 | EUR 28.81 |
| 15 | EUR 44.50 | EUR 36.00 |
| 30 | EUR 63.50 | EUR 55.00 |
Read on each brand’s own Japan page on 2026-10-13. Yesim sells the days in between as well, which this table leaves out.
What each Japan page says
Where a line says “not stated”, the page text we read did not say. That does not mean the feature is missing.
Airalo
- Networks named on the page: SoftBank and one more that the text we read does not name.
- Plan type, phone number, hotspot, activation window, speed limits: not stated in the text we read.
Yesim
- Plan type: data only, so no phone number for calls or texts. If your bank sends login codes by text, keep your home SIM on for texts.
- Hotspot: listed as available.
- Activation: within 90 days of purchase.
- Network: not named in the text we read.
Check the price on the brand’s page
Open the plan for your number of days on the brand’s own page. Each link below is an affiliate link.
Airalo, Japan eSIM
Japan-only plans. Unlimited plans come as 3, 5, 7, 10, 15 or 30 days. The page lists SoftBank and one more network.
The 7-day unlimited plan showed EUR 24.50. Read 2026-10-13.
Check price on Airalo (affiliate link)Yesim, Japan eSIM
Data-only eSIM with unlimited plans from 1 day. It costs EUR 3.50 per day up to 7 days, then less per day.
The 7-day unlimited plan showed EUR 24.50. Read 2026-10-13.
Check price on Yesim (affiliate link)What this page could not check
- Speed, signal and coverage. That needs a test on the ground, and we made none.
- Saily. Its Japan page showed a bot check on 2026-10-13, so we did not read it.
- Fixed-data plans in gigabytes. We read the unlimited plans only.
- Whether your phone supports the plan. Airalo’s Japan page has a compatibility check. Check it first.
- Price changes after 2026-10-13.
More for a Japan trip
Staying in Tokyo? See teamLab Planets ticket prices by date, day trips from Tokyo, five tours priced and Tokyo food tours compared. Going to Portugal instead? Compare eSIM plans for Portugal. All other countries we cover are on the guides page. For how we read prices, see how we score and price, and for every source see all sources.
How we made this page
We open each brand's Japan page in a browser, read the page text, save a screenshot, and write down the unlimited plan prices in euros and the plan facts the page prints. The Yesim day list comes from its days menu. We do not test speed or coverage, and we copy no seller text. Saily showed a bot check, so we did not read it.
Research and first drafts are AI-assisted. Every figure comes from open data listed on the page with its source and date, and a person reviews each page before it goes live.
- Airalo, Japan eSIM pagePublic web page, facts only. Fetched .
- Yesim, Japan eSIM pagePublic web page, facts only. Fetched .
